In a report published in 1996, the International Commission for education in the 20th century established by UNESCO, assigned a new objective to education: in addition to simply knowing, knowing how “to do” and knowing how “to be”, from now on apprenticeship must include knowing how to live together, in order to “help transform a de facto interdependence into an intentional solidarity.”  Actually, in spite of an astonishingly multiple and easy means of communication, there is a general lack of understanding of this new objective in the contemporary world.

Edgar Morin thinks that the seven forms of knowing necessary for education in the future must teach mutual understanding of its two poles: one pole that has become planetary, the one of the understanding between distant beings, and an individual pole, the one of the relations between closely related beings. The human being, who is, at one and the same time, an individual, a member of a species, and a member of society, is also “complex” in the etymological sense of the term, “that which is woven together”.  If one thread is pulled out the cloth is ruined.

The members of the Commission, just like Edgar Morin, sensed it deeply and suggested that art can and should permit the teaching of the ethic of understanding. The experiments carried out since 1986 by the International Theatre Academy for Children show the correctness of their intuition: aesthetic education is an ethical education. It teaches us at the same time that the child, that “absorbent spirit”, according to Maria Montessori, is not educated and does not grow except through contact with an adult who for that child is an irreplaceable model.

top of page...
  • Français
  • English
Logo ©Académie Internationale de Théâtre pour Enfants

Dans le rapport qu'elle a publié en 1996, la Commission internationale pour l'éducation au XXIème siècle réunie par l'UNESCO assigne un nouvel objectif à l'éducation : outre le savoir, le savoir faire et le savoir être, l'apprentissage doit comprendre désormais le savoir vivre ensemble, afin " d'aider à transformer une interdépendance de fait en une solidarité voulue. " En effet, malgré des moyens de communication devenus étonnamment multiples et faciles, l'incompréhension est générale dans le monde contemporain. Ce paradoxe est crucial pour l'humanité.

Edgar Morin pense que les sept savoirs nécessaires à l'éducation du futur devront enseigner la compréhension mutuelle dans ses deux pôles : un pôle devenu planétaire, celui de la compréhension entre lointains et un pôle individuel, celui des relations entre proches. L'être humain, à la fois individu, espèce et société, est " complexe " au sens étymologique du terme, " ce qui est tissé ensemble ". Qu'un seul fil en soit retranché et l'étoffe est perdue.

Les membres de la Commission tout comme Edgar Morin pressentent et suggèrent que l'art peut et doit permettre d'enseigner l'éthique de la compréhension. L'expérience menée depuis 1986 au sein de l'Académie Internationale de Théâtre pour Enfants montre la justesse de leur intuition : l'éducation esthétique est une éducation éthique. Elle nous enseigne également que l'enfant, cet " esprit absorbant " selon Maria Montessori, ne s'éduque et ne grandit qu'au contact de l'adulte qui est pour lui un modèle irremplaçable.

Retour haut de page...
  • Français
  • English
Logo ©Académie Internationale de Théâtre pour Enfants